The Hobbit

Author: J.R.R. Tolkien

Type: Fiction, novel

Full title: The Hobbit; or, There and Back Again

Published: 1937

I read it: December 2012 (re-read)

hobbit

It had been close to a decade since I last read The Hobbit, when the fever of the trilogy films was still in full swing. I had remained indifferent to the new movie right up until this December, then got caught up in the excitement all over again. While it may have been my fifth time through the book, it was my first since graduating as an English major and reading a few hundred more books throughout my twenties. I could get critical and remark about some point-of-view shifts, but otherwise the book remains as perfect as I remember it (and for a bedside tale with a first-person omniscient narrator, why not allow some POV liberties?). It is a book to ever get lost in, with one iconic scene after the next, and no small amount of wonder and joy seeping through the pages throughout the telling. This one continues to last.

Please leave your thoughts:

