This Is Where I Leave You

Author: Jonathan Tropper

Type: Fiction, novel

Published: 2009

I read it: October 2010

this is where

A pretty good airplane book, in that it goes fast and is funny. The situations are a bit out there but the characters are colorful, and I did laugh out loud at a few parts. Surprisingly, there were touching realizations strewn amongst the spite, gutlessness, and debauchery, although sometimes the “morals” were a little too obvious. One of my pet peeves in fiction writing is when authors describe dreams, which occurred too often here. And it’s hard to take a book seriously that ends with the line…. well, I shouldn’t ruin it. Anyway, it’s great candy and was a welcome way for me to jump back into novels after other reading endeavors. But now I’m ready for some meat.

Please leave your thoughts:

