A Game of Thrones

Author: George R.R. Martin

Type: Fiction, novel

Part of series: A Song of Ice and Fire (#1)

Published: 1996

I read it: December 2011

game of thrones

After some hesitation, I decided to just go ahead and jump in. It’s fun to read something at the same time as a bunch of friends…beat ’em/join ’em and all that. The first book in the series is great fun, and I’m glad I had watched the show first because it’s helpful to have some faces to put to some of the hundreds of characters. I didn’t mind knowing what was going to happen next, as Martin is a master plotter and the pages turn like a massive, romantic mystery. The exposition gets heavy at times but the book never feels long. Actually, sometimes the characters move too quickly through their place settings and you wish Martin would slow down so we could get to know them a little better. Of course that would add to the 800 pages, so I guess I’ll be content with his style. Now the hook has been set, and I have no doubt I’ll catch up to my friends fairly quickly.

Please leave your thoughts:

