The Greatest Show on Earth

Author: Richard Dawkins

Type: Non-fiction, single subject

Full title: The Greatest Show on Earth: The Evidence for Evolution

Published: 2009

I read it: December 2009

greatest show

It’s Richard Dawkins writing about evolution, what did you expect? Thumbs up for awesomely accessible writing as well as some sweet full-color photos. So yeah, the jabs at creationists don’t really stop, but why should they? As he says, the book is totally necessary given the state of our educational system (and Texas’ in particular). Aside from the anti-creationist agenda, the book is a very carefully laid out introduction to the evidence for evolution. Chapters are carefully chosen to guide the reader and build on what is already stated. Even those familiar with evolutionary theory will learn a few new things.

Along with Your Inner Fish, this book provided some inspiration for my blog post “Life’s Hiccups.”

2 thoughts on “The Greatest Show on Earth

  1. Interesting. I haven’t read it yet. I did read Why Evolution is True by Jerry Coyne, which was also intended to explain the evidence for evolution.

    • Thanks for commenting, Chris. I haven’t read Coyne’s book yet but I’ve heard good things. I did read Neil Shubin’s Your Inner Fish which was another good starting point book for evolution. Having read some on the subject though, some of these types of books wow me less and less. That’s why I always have praise for Dawkins–he’s so good at conveying an enthusiasm for evolution that I feel even if I’ve read certain facts before, he never fails to make them interesting.

Please leave your thoughts:

