The Man Who Was Thursday

Author: G.K. Chesteron

Type: Fiction, novel

Published: 1908

I read it: November 2007

man who was thursday

Apparently G.K. Chesterton was one of the more popular authors of the early 20th century. This book is equal parts detective, mystery, thriller, political, and religious novel. A very entertaining read, it moves along with a quick pace and each chapter has an unexpected twist. The book has already lasted a century and both the jokes and philosophy are still fresh. It gives you a lot to think about, although the ending was a bit more fantastical than I had hoped. Think The Da Vinci Code of its day, only better, with more memorable characters and a much more acute analysis of the modern human struggle.

3 thoughts on “The Man Who Was Thursday

  1. I read it, or rather heard it, in audiobook form, for the first time recently. A truly unique and great work of fiction. I can’t say I’ve come across such an entertaining and yet intellectually engaging novel in all my life..

    • It’s been a while since I’ve read this, and a lot of the plot details are slipping from me. I do remember it being entertaining and filled with a bunch of philosophical implications. I wonder what Chesterton’s other stuff is like.

      • You really ought to check the other ones out…most are less complicated than Thursday, such as the Father Brown novelletes, and one is more complicated, namely the Ball and the Cross, but all of them are masterfully written and all-around good reads.

Please leave your thoughts:

